Québec, l'accent d'Amérique

Home > Tourists > Learn about the City > History > Québec, a New French Colony (1608–1755)

|
Print
|
Text size Text size

Québec, a New French Colony (1608–1755)

Champlain Founds Québec


Champlain draws the map of Québec City.
Engraving: "Souvenir du IIIe centenaire, 1608-1908", Archives de la Ville de Québec

On July 3, 1608, Samuel de Champlain sailed up the St. Lawrence River in the company of 26 recruits—lumberjacks, carpenters, and laborers. At the behest of Pierre Dugua de Mons, who held a monopoly over the fur trade, Champlain had come to establish a trading post. When he arrived, he could find no trace of Stadacona. Its Iroquois population had abandoned the St. Lawrence Valley for reasons that remain a mystery to this day. Only the nomadic Algonquins ventured there to barter and fish for eels.

Champlain settled along Québec’s shoreline, a natural harbor where Place Royale is situated today. The location was perfect. From atop Cape Diamond, it was easy to keep an eye on comings and goings along the St. Lawrence River.
Champlain quickly erected his wooden Habitation on the site of today’s Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Church. The building served as a home, fort, and store. It soon became a meeting place where various Amerindians came to barter furs for European goods.

Fabulous Ludovica

In a journal entry from 1618, Champlain outlined a plan to found a large city along the banks of Rivière Saint-Charles (today’s Saint-Roch and Saint-Sauveur districts) and to name it Ludovica in honor of King Louis XIII. The project would never come to anything, however, as Champlain’s vision of a great city died with him.

The Upper Town Is Born


Champlain’s wooden Habitation was built in a matter of days.
Engraving: "The first House erected in Quebec, 1880", Archives de la Ville de Québec.

Champlain also gave thought to the city’s defenses. In 1620 he began to construct Fort Saint-Louis on the headlands near where the Château Frontenac stands today. It was the beginning of the Upper Town. The location was a strategic one: the fort looked out across the river and down on the Habitation below. A few wooden buildings surrounded by a palisade made up the fort, while a trail connecting the Lower Town’s Habitation to Fort Saint-Louis traced the same route as part of today’s Côte de la Montagne.

Château Living

There was a succession of four Saint-Louis forts and two châteaux between 1620 and 1834. They were the seat of the colony’s executive power for more than 200 years and also served as the official residence for all governors of the French Regime and many belonging to the British Regime. Balls, receptions, and other events were held there. It is even said that to impress his First Nations guests, Governor Frontenac served them ice cream of every color prepared by his confectioner.

In the Crosshairs of the English


Champlain, knowing the colony was too weak for battle, negotiates terms of surrender for the city, September 14, 1629.
Engraving: "Our First Footing in Canada: Champlain Surrendering Quebec to Admiral Kirke", July 20, 1629, The Illustrated London News, February 21, 1903 Archives de la Ville de Québec.

Prior to the War of the Conquest, Québec City had twice been attacked by the English. On the first occasion, in 1629, the Kirke brothers took control of the city in the name of England. Champlain and much of the population fled, leaving a few settlers behind them. The city was returned to France in 1632.

The second attack occurred on October 16, 1690. William Phips landed in Québec City with a fleet of around thirty ships and more than 2,000 men. It was then that Governor Louis de Buade, Count of Frontenac, responded with his famous tirade against Phips’ messenger, who had come to demand that he surrender the city: “I have no reply to make to your general other than from the mouths of my cannons and muskets.” Phips’ troops were repelled, and his fleet set off for New England. 

Québec City only escaped a third assault thanks to Mother Nature. In July of 1711, British Admiral Hovenden Walker set sail with a fleet of 70 ships and 12,000 men to seize the capital. On a stormy night, eight of his ships broke up against the rocky coastline of Île aux Oeufs on the north shore. Nearly 750 men were lost. Battered and shaken, Walker turned back.

Quite a Performance!

A rowboat flying a white flag was dispatched from Admiral Phips’ ship, with his envoy on board. As soon as he landed in town, he was blindfolded to hide the city’s weak defenses. While on his way to meet Frontenac, the envoy was repeatedly harassed by the same small group, and he believed he had encountered a large and boisterous population.

In Remembrance


Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Church in the late 1990s.
Photo: "Place Royale by Night", Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Church, Québec City, Canada, after 1989, Archives de la Ville de Québec.

Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Church was built in Place Royale in 1688. First named Enfant-Jésus, it became Notre-Dame-de-la-Victoire following the victory against Phips. After the failed invasion of 1711, it was renamed Notre-Dame-des-Victoires.

Québec City Strengthens Its Defenses

From 1620 to 1665, Québec City’s fortifications were quite rudimentary. In 1690, a wall consisting of 11 redoubts (towers) linked by palisades was hastily erected. It was the first in a series of walls built to encircle the city. It would not be until 1745—when Québec was panic-stricken after the fall of Louisbourg (the capital of the Île Royale colony, today Cape Breton Island) to the English—that a new wall permanently surrounded the city. Following the plans of engineer Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros de Léry, these fortifications were formed from previous walls.

A Capital Is Born

Since its founding, Québec City had been ruled by a governor. His responsibilities included the military command, the civil administration, and the execution of royal decrees. The only authority not granted to him was financial management, which was ensured by trading companies more interested in the fur trade than any commitment to populate the colony. Interestingly, governors were occasionally stakeholders in these companies.

But things changed in 1663: King Louis XIV of France took direct control of the colony and established a true colonial administration. Henceforth an intendant and a sovereign council ruled the city, along with a governor. Québec City officially became the capital of New France.

The King’s Eyes and Ears

Louis XIV thus described the intendant’s role. Jean Talon was the first to hold the position. During his two terms in office (1665–1668 and 1670–1672), Talon worked to boost the colony’s population and economic development. We owe him the shipbuilding yard on Rivière Saint-Charles as well as the first brewery in New France, built in the Lower Town in what is today the Îlot des Palais sector.

The Clergy Leaves Its Mark


Three Augustines land in Québec on August 1, 1639, to found Hôtel-Dieu.
Photo: "Arrival of the Hospital Sisters in Québec", 1922, Musée des Augustines de l'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

The clergy became involved very early on in Québec City’s growth. The arrival of the Récollets in 1615 marked the beginning of a large scale conversion effort. Ten years later the Jesuits arrived and founded Collège des Jésuites in 1635. In 1639 three Ursulines, including Marie de l’Incarnation, founded a monastery and a school for girls. And in the same year, three hospital sisters founded Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. In 1692, under the guidance of Msgr. de Saint-Vallier, Hôpital Général was established.

In 1659 François de Laval arrived in Québec City as vicar apostolic. He founded Séminaire de Québec in 1663 to recruit and train clergy, and then Petit Séminaire in 1668. He was appointed the first bishop of the diocese of Québec upon its creation in 1674. The Notre-Dame-de-la-Paix Church (today, Notre-Dame-de-Québec) then became a cathedral.

Over the years, Québec City evolved. It became the seat of political power and an administrative, religious, and commercial center. By the end of the French Regime, its 8,000 inhabitants lived in the Saint-Roch and Saint-Jean neighborhoods, as well as the seigneuries stretching from Beauport to Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures.

Growing with the Merchant Class

Québec City was New France’s main port. It was part of a commercial trading network between France, the Antilles, Acadia, and Newfoundland. Ships exported furs and wood and imported products from Europe and the Antilles. This shipping trade was central to Place Royale.

A First Businesswoman!

Marie-Anne Barbel, wife of bourgeois merchant Jean-Louis Fornel, managed her husband’s store while he pursued his interest in the fur trade. When her husband died, she continued to look after the business. Her real estate holdings were impressive: seven houses in the Lower Town, a home in the Upper Town, land along the water’s edge, a seigneury, and five plots of land just outside the city. The War of the Conquest cost her vast sums of money and shelling damaged her properties, but she survived until 1793, when she died at the ripe old age of 90.

A Developer Ahead of his Time

Henry Hiché (1672–1758), a merchant and senior civil servant, sold so many parcels of land in Saint-Roch that part of the district was named after him.

Top
© Ville de Québec, 2014. All rights reserved.

Québec, l'accent d'Amérique
Menu Profil Recherche

Accueil > Touristes > Histoire > Québec, nouvelle terre française (1608-1755)

|
Imprimer
|
Modifier la taille du texte Modifier la taille du texte

Québec, nouvelle terre française (1608-1755)

Champlain fonde Québec


Champlain traçant le plan de Québec.
Gravure : « Souvenir du IIIe centenaire, 1608-1908 », Archives de la Ville de Québec

3 juillet 1608, Samuel de Champlain remonte le fleuve Saint-Laurent en compagnie de 26 engagés – bûcherons, charpentiers et laboureurs. Mandaté par Pierre Dugua de Mons, qui détient un monopole de commerce des fourrures, Champlain vient pour établir un comptoir de traite. Lorsqu’il arrive, point de trace de Stadaconé. Sa population iroquoienne a déserté la vallée du Saint-Laurent pour des raisons que l’on ignore encore. Seuls des peuples nomades algonquiens fréquentent les lieux pour pêcher l’anguille et faire du troc.

Champlain s’installe sur la pointe de Québec, aujourd’hui place Royale, un havre naturel. Le site est idéal. Du haut du cap aux Diamants, il est facile d’observer les allées et venues sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Rapidement, Champlain fait construire son Abitation de bois sur l’emplacement de l’actuelle église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires. Le bâtiment sert à la fois de résidence, de fort et de magasin. Il devient aussi très vite un lieu de rencontre où diverses nations amérindiennes viennent échanger des fourrures contre des produits européens.

Fabuleuse Ludovica

Dans un mémoire de 1618, Champlain décrit un projet, celui d’établir une grande ville sur les bords de la rivière Saint-Charles (là où se trouvent aujourd’hui les quartiers Saint-Roch et Saint-Sauveur) et de la baptiser Ludovica en l’honneur du roi Louis XIII. Ce projet ne verra toutefois jamais le jour : la mort de Champlain met fin à ce rêve de ville grandiose.

Naissance de la haute-ville


L’Abitation de Champlain, en bois, fut construite en quelques jours.
Gravure : The first House erected in Quebec, 1880, Archives de la Ville de Québec.

Champlain pense également à la défense de la ville. En 1620, il fait construire sur le cap le fort Saint-Louis, près de l’actuel Château Frontenac. C’est le début de la haute-ville. L’endroit est stratégique: le fort surplombe le fleuve et domine l’Abitation tout en bas. Quelques bâtiments de bois entourés d’une palissade forment le fort. Un sentier communique entre l’Abitation de la basse-ville et le fort Saint-Louis : ce chemin correspond en partie à l’actuelle côte de la Montagne.

La vie de château

Quatre forts et deux châteaux Saint-Louis se sont succédé entre 1620 et 1834. Sièges du pouvoir exécutif de la colonie pendant plus de 200 ans, ils ont également servi de résidence officielle à tous les gouverneurs du Régime français, et à plusieurs du Régime anglais. Bals, réceptions et autres activités s’y tenaient. On dit même que le gouverneur Frontenac, pour impressionner ses invités amérindiens, leur faisait servir des glaces de toutes les couleurs préparées par son confiseur.

Dans la mire des Anglais


Champlain, sachant la colonie trop faible pour combattre, négocie les termes de la capitulation de la ville, le 14 septembre 1629.
Gravure : Our first footing in Canada : Champlain surrendering Quebec to Admiral Kirke, July 20, 1629, The Illustrated London News, 21 février 1903, Archives de la Ville de Québec.

Avant la guerre de la Conquête, Québec est la cible d’attaques des Anglais à deux reprises. La première fois, en 1629, les frères Kirke en prennent possession au nom de l’Angleterre. Champlain et une grande partie de la population quittent les lieux, laissant quelques colons derrière eux. Québec est rendue à la France en 1632.

La deuxième attaque survient le 16 octobre 1690. William Phips arrive à Québec avec une flotte d’une trentaine de navires et plus de 2 000 hommes. C’est alors que le gouverneur Louis de Buade, comte de Frontenac, répond par sa célèbre tirade au messager de Phips venu le sommer de rendre la ville: «Je nay point de reponse a faire a vostre general que par la bouche de mes canons et a coups de fuzil...» Les troupes de Phips sont repoussées, sa flotte repart pour la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Québec évite un troisième assaut grâce à dame Nature. Juillet 1711, l’amiral anglais Hovenden Walker fait voile vers Québec avec une flotte de 70 navires et 12 000 hommes pour s’emparer de la capitale. Par une nuit de tempête, huit de ses navires se brisent sur les récifs de l’île aux Œufs (en Côte-Nord). Près de 750 hommes périssent. Ébranlé, Walker rebrousse chemin.

Toute une mise en scène!

Une chaloupe arborant un drapeau blanc quitte le navire de l’amiral Phips. À son bord, l’émissaire de Phips. Dès qu’il débarque en ville, on lui bande les yeux de façon à cacher la faiblesse défensive de la ville. Sur le chemin pour aller rencontrer Frontenac, l’émissaire est harcelé à plusieurs reprises par un même petit groupe de personnes, et il croit avoir affaire à une population nombreuse et confiante.

En guise de reconnaissance


L’église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires à la fin des années 1990.
Photo : Place Royale la nuit. L'église Notre-Dame-des-Victoire. Québec. Canada, après 1989, Archives de la Ville de Québec.

On construit l’église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires de place Royale en 1688. D’abord appelée église de l’Enfant-Jésus, elle devient Notre-Dame-de-la-Victoire à la suite de la victoire contre Phips. Après l’invasion ratée de 1711, on la rebaptise Notre-Dame-des-Victoires.

Québec se fortifie

Entre 1620 et 1665, Québec se dote d’ouvrages militaires souvent rudimentaires. En 1690, une enceinte de 11 redoutes (ou tours) reliées par des palissades est érigée à la hâte. C’est la première d’une série d’enceintes construites pour fermer la ville. On devra attendre 1745 – alors que Québec est prise de panique en raison de la capitulation de Louisbourg (capitale de la colonie de l’île Royale, l’actuelle île du Cap-Breton) aux mains des Anglais – pour qu’une nouvelle enceinte ferme définitivement la ville. Suivant les plans de l’ingénieur Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros de Léry, ces fortifications intègrent des composantes d’enceintes antérieures.

La naissance d’une capitale

Depuis sa fondation, Québec est dirigée par un gouverneur. À sa charge: le commandement militaire, la direction civile et l’exécution des arrêts royaux. Le seul pouvoir qui lui échappe est celui de la gestion financière, assurée par des compagnies de commerce davantage préoccupées par la traite des fourrures que par leurs obligations de peupler la colonie. Fait intéressant, le gouverneur était parfois actionnaire de ces compagnies.

Mais les choses changent en 1663: le roi de France, Louis XIV, prend directement charge de la colonie et implante une véritable administration coloniale. Désormais figurent au rang des dirigeants de Québec, en plus du gouverneur, un intendant et un conseil souverain. La ville devient officiellement la capitale de la Nouvelle-France.

« L’œil et la main du roi »

C’est ainsi que Louis XIV décrit le rôle de l’intendant. Le premier titulaire du poste est Jean Talon. Durant ses mandats (1665-1668 et 1670-1672), Talon s’emploie à l’accroissement de la population et au développement économique. On lui doit le chantier de construction navale de la rivière Saint-Charles et la première brasserie de la Nouvelle-France, construite à la basse-ville dans le secteur actuel de l’îlot des Palais.

L’empreinte du clergé


Trois augustines débarquent à Québec le 1er août 1639 pour fonder l'Hôtel-Dieu.
Photo : Arrivée des Hospitalières à Québec, 1922, Musée des Augustines de l'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec.

Le clergé s’implique très tôt dans le développement de Québec. La venue des Récollets en 1615 marque le début d’une vaste entreprise de conversion. Dix ans plus tard arrivent les Jésuites, qui fondent le Collège des Jésuites en 1635. En 1639, trois ursulines, dont Marie de l’Incarnation, viennent implanter un monastère et une école pour filles. La même année, trois hospitalières fondent l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. Avec 1692, sous l’impulsion de Mgr de Saint-Vallier, l’Hôpital général voit le jour.

François de Laval arrive à Québec en 1659, à titre de vicaire apostolique. Il fonde en 1663 le Séminaire de Québec, destiné à recruter et à former le clergé, puis le Petit Séminaire en 1668. L’homme devient le premier évêque du diocèse de Québec à sa création en 1674. L’église Notre-Dame-de-la-Paix (aujourd’hui Notre-Dame-de-Québec) devient alors cathédrale.

Au fil des ans, Québec évolue. Elle est lieu de pouvoir politique, centre administratif, religieux et commercial. À la fin du Régime français, ses 8 000 habitants se répartissent dans les faubourgs Saint-Roch et Saint-Jean et dans des seigneuries allant de Beauport à Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures.

Au rythme des marchands

La grande ville portuaire de la Nouvelle-France, c’est Québec. Son port fait partie d’un réseau d’échanges commerciaux entre la France, les Antilles, l’Acadie et Terre-Neuve. Les navires exportent fourrures et bois. Ils importent des produits européens et antillais. Cette activité maritime imprègne place Royale.

Déjà une femme d’affaires!

Marie-Anne Barbel, épouse du marchand bourgeois Jean-Louis Fornel, gère le magasin de son mari, davantage attiré par le commerce des fourrures. Au décès de son époux, elle continue de tenir l’entreprise. Son capital immobilier est impressionnant : sept maisons dans la basse-ville, une maison en haute-ville, un terrain sur le bord de la grève, une seigneurie et cinq terres à proximité de Québec. La guerre de la Conquête lui fera perdre des sommes considérables, et les bombardements endommageront ses propriétés. Elle mourra en 1793, à l’âge de 90 ans.

Un promoteur avant la lettre!

Henry Hiché (1672-1758), marchand et haut fonctionnaire, vend tellement de parcelles de terrains dans Saint-Roch qu’une partie du secteur porte à l’époque son nom: le faubourg Hiché.

© Ville de Québec, 2017. Tous droits réservés.